October 24, 2013

With 2013 winding to a close, it's time to unveil both our choices and the fan vote totals for the annual 'Best of Lacrosse' from Lacrosse Magazine.

The voting was close for many categories and more than a couple of them came down to the readers choosing different folks than our staff did (final choices were made by a group consisting of Lacrosse Magazine editorial staff as well as US Lacrosse communications staff.)

Congratulations to all of our winners, and all other nominees. To even make the final cut of the fan vote meant you had a properly exemplary year.

We will be unrolling the staff winners and vote totals over the next two weeks, so be sure to check back to find out who won your category

Best Women's Player - Team USA's Katrina Dowd

@JC Pinheiro

Team USA attacker and North Carolina womens's assistant Katrina Dowd had an out-sized year in 2013, earning All-World status with a World Cup record 28 goals in Ontario as her team swept to the gold in stunning fashion.

Full Story

Final Fan Vote

Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland) - 40%
Kara Cannizzaro (North Carolina) - 25%
Katrina Dowd (Team USA) - 18%
Carly Reed (St. Stephen's/St. Agnes (Va.)) - 14%
Jackie Sileo (LIU Post) - 3% 

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Team Breakthrough - Milton (Ga.) Eagles

©Michael Schwarz

A longtime power in Georgia, the Milton Girls were still a relative unknown on the national stage before March, when the Eagles gave powerhouse McDonogh (Md.) a run for its money and then topped regional rival Vero Beach (Fla.) for the first time in six tries.

The emergence landed stars Annie Ruland and Lydia Cassada in the magazine and the program on the tip of everyone's tongue.

Full Story

Final Fan Vote

Milton (Ga.) girls 51%
Detroit men 24%
North Carolina women 14%
Charlotte Hounds 6%
Stevenson men 5%

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Women's Coach - North Carolina's Jenny Levy

©Peyton Williams

The only coach that the University of North Carolina women's program has ever had, Jenny Levy had built a consistently excellent team in the women's division I world, but was dogged by the lack of an NCAA title, due in no small part to the consistent excellence of conference foe Maryland and Northwestern's dominant run.

In 2013, however, she put that behind her, beating Northwestern in the semifinals and then taking an epic finals win over Maryland to quiet any naysayers.

Full Story

Final Fan Vote

Cathy Reese (Maryland) - 38%
Jenny Levy (North Carolina) - 32%
Ricky Fried (Team USA) - 13%
Alexis Venechanos (Canada) - 11%
Katie Woods (Connecticut) - 6%

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Individual Performance - Duke's Brendan Fowler

©Kevin Tucker

A dominant season (winning nearly 65% of his draws) was capped by a monster NCAA tournament weekend, winning 36 of 59 draws and scooping 26 groundballs. At one point in the finals, Fowler - who went 20-for-28 on the day - won 13 straight draws, helping the Blue Devils reverse a 5-0 deficit on the way to the title.

The scary thing - Fowler comes back along with many of his Duke teammates in 2014.

Full Story

Final Fan Vote

Katie Rowan, Team USA (World Cup Final) 36%
Megan Ward, North Carolina (NCAA Final Four) 32%
Miles Thompson, Albany (vs. Stony Brook) 14%
Brendan Fowler, Duke (NCAA Final Four) 13%
Eric Law, Denver Outlaws (MLL Semifinal) 5%

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Men's Coach - Duke's John Danowski

 ©Lee Weissman

A 2-4 start had John Danowski and his Duke Blue Devils in the crosshairs of doubters in early March. But some key adjustments paid major dividends for the Blue Devils, like moving Christian Walsh to midfield to insert Case Matheis at attack and the emergence of Kyle Turri in net after the season-ending injury to Dan Wigrizer. A 9-8 win under the lights against Loyola started a 14-1 run that went all the way to the NCAA finals, where Duke took home its second title in the Danowski era with a 16-10 win over Syracuse.

Full Story

Final Fan Vote

John Danowski, Duke 47%
John Desko, Syracuse 17%
Paul Cantabene, Stevenson 16%
Dave Cottle, Chesapeake Bayhawks 12%
Jim Stagnitta, Denver Outlaws 8%

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Individual Breakthrough - Bellarmine's Dillon Ward

©John Strohsacker

A fixture on the indoor scene for a while now - taking home the Robert Melville Award as the Junior A circuit's top keeper three taimes and Minto Cups 2008, 2009 and 2012 - Ward burst onto the NCAA scene this spring, leading Division I with a 66.2 saves percentage and earning ECAC Goalie of the Year and third-team All American honors.

Drafted to the MLL by Ohio, he was later traded to Hamilton, where he became the top backup to Brett Queener. He was also drafted third overall in the NLL.

Full Story

Fan Vote

Drew Snider, Denver Outlaws 40%
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina 28%
JoJo Marasco, Syracuse/New York Lizards 17%
Eric Law, Denver Outlaws 8%
Dillon Ward, Bellarmine 7%

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Men's Player 

Staff Choice Coming Monday, Dec. 23 

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Milestone Moment

Staff Choice Coming Tuesday, Dec. 24

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Game

Staff Choice Coming Wednesday, Dec. 25

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists

Best Upset

Staff Choice Coming Thursday, Dec. 26

» LM Breakdown of the Finalists



Lacrosse Magazine on Facebook


LaxMagazine.com features news, scores and standings tailored to your favorite teams.

» NCAA Division I Men
» NCAA Division I Women
» NCAA Division II Men
» NCAA Division II Women
» NCAA Division III Men
» NCAA Division III Women
» MCLA Division I Men
» MCLA Division II Men
» U.S. Senior Men
» U.S. Senior Women
» U.S. U19 Men
» U.S. U19 Women
» U.S. Indoor Men

// show either all first or all second banners