February 9, 2009

Plenty of College Lacrosse on the Tube in 2009

by Matt DaSilva | Lacrosse Magazine Online Staff

Smile, lacrosse fans, you’re on TV.

The 2009 college lacrosse season includes an unprecedented 63 games televised nationally, as per announcements by ESPN and CBS College Sports.

The broadcast slate, listed in its entirety below, includes live coverage of all six NCAA championship games, both sets of Division I semifinals and two regular season men’s games in high definition. Regional broadcasts are also included in italics , and will be updated as the schedules are released.

Related:

•   ESPN Releases HD Schedule for Lacrosse
•   ESPN Networks to Televise 45 Games
•   CBS College Sports Announces Schedule
•   Hopkins Men Get Plenty of TV Time

FEBRUARY

Friday, Feb. 20 – Siena at Johns Hopkins, 6 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, Feb. 21 – Georgetown at Maryland, 1 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, Feb. 22 – Towson at Loyola, 6:30 p.m. (ESPNU, tape delay)

Wednesday, Feb. 25 - Georgetown at Johns Hopkins (women), 4 p.m. (ESPNU)

Saturday, Feb. 28 – Princeton vs. Johns Hopkins, 12 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)*
Saturday, Feb. 28 – Duke vs. Maryland, 2:30 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)*
Saturday, Feb. 28 – Cornell at Army, 5 p.m. (ESPNU)


MARCH

Friday, March 6 – Princeton at UMBC, 12 a.m. (ESPNU, tape delay)
Saturday, March 7 – Hofstra at Johns Hopkins, 12 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)
Saturday, March 7 – Maryland at Towson, 2 p.m. (ESPNU)
Sunday, March 8 – North Carolina at Notre Dame, 4:30 p.m. (CBS-CS, tape delay)

Saturday, March 14 – UMBC at Maryland, 12 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, March 14 – Duke at North Carolina, 2 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)

Friday, March 20 – Albany at Princeton, 3 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, March 21 – North Carolina at Maryland, 2 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)
Saturday, March 21 – Virginia at Johns Hopkins, 8 p.m. (ESPNU)

Tuesday, March 24 – Hofstra at Army, 7 p.m. (ESPNU)

Saturday, March 28 – Maryland at Virginia, 12 p.m. (ESPN2, HD)
Saturday, March 28- Syracuse at Loyola, 12 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, March 28 – Colgate at Navy (women), 12 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Saturday, March 28 - Navy at Georgetown, 1 p.m. (MASN)
Saturday, March 28 - Johns Hopkins at North Carolina, 2 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)

Sunday, March 29 - Army at Colgate (Time Warner)


APRIL

Friday, April 3 – Maryland at Navy, 7 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Saturday, April 4 – North Carolina vs. Virginia, 12 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)**
Saturday, April 4 – Syracuse vs. Princeton, 2:30 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)**
Saturday, April 4 – Albany at Johns Hopkins, 9 p.m. (ESPNU, tape delay)

Saturday, April 11 – Army vs. Navy, 11:30 a.m. (ESPNU, HD)***
Saturday, April 11 – Notre Dame at Syracuse (women), 12 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Saturday, April 11 – Loyola at Georgetown, 1 p.m. (MASN)
Saturday, April 11 – Johns Hopkins vs. Maryland, 2 p.m. (ESPNU, HD)***
Saturday, April 11 – Virginia at Duke, 4 p.m. (ESPN2, HD)
Saturday, April 11 – Hofstra at Towson, 10 p.m. (ESPNU, tape delay)

Friday, April 17 – Northwestern at Johns Hopkins (women), 7 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, April 18 – Navy at Johns Hopkins, 12 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, April 18 - Dartmouth at Virginia (women), 12 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Saturday, April 18 - Bucknell at Colgate, 1 p.m. (Time Warner)
Saturday, April 18 - Army at Duke, 2:30 p.m. (CBS-CS)

Friday, April 24 – Patriot League Semifinal, 3 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Saturday, April 25 – Vermont at UMBC, 1 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, April 25 – Syracuse at UMass, 1:30 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Sunday, April 26 – Big East Championship (women), 1 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Sunday, April 26 – Patriot League Championship – 3 p.m.


MAY

Saturday, May 2 – Loyola at Johns Hopkins, 1 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, May 2 - Colgate at Syracuse, 2 p.m. (Time Warner)


NCAA TOURNAMENTS

Saturday, May 9 – NCAA Division I Men’s First-Round Games (ESPNU, ESPN2, HD)
Sunday, May 10- NCAA Division I Men’s First-Round Games (ESPNU, HD)

Saturday, May 16 – NCAA Division I Men’s Quarterfinals (ESPNU, HD)
Sunday, May 17 – NCAA Division I Men’s Quarterfinals (ESPNU, HD)
Sunday May 17 - NCAA Division II Women’s Championship, 12 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Sunday,  May 17 - NCAA Division III Women’s Championship, 3 p.m. (CBS-CS)

Friday, May 22 - NCAA Division I Women’s Semifinals (CBS-CS)
Saturday, May 23 – NCAA Division I Men’s Semifinals (ESPN2, HD)
Sunday, May 24 - NCAA Division III Men’s Championship, 12 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Sunday, May 24 - NCAA Division II Men’s Championship, 3 p.m. (CBS-CS)
Sunday, May 24 - NCAA Division I Women’s Championship, 5:30 p.m. (CBS-CS)

Monday, May 25 – NCAA Division I Men’s Championship, 1 p.m. (ESPN, HD)

* Konica Minolta Face-Off Classic at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore
** Big City Classic at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.
*** Day of Rivals at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore


comments powered by Disqus