November 8, 2010

Related Links

More Links

Loyola Men Roll Out 2011 Spring Slate

from press release

BALTIMORE – Loyola University Maryland's men's lacrosse team will open its second season of competition at the Ridley Athletic Complex when it hosts the U.S. Naval Academy on Saturday, February 19, 2011, Head Coach Charley Toomey announced today.

Game times for the 2011 schedule will be announced at a later date.

"We feel that we have put together a schedule with tough non-conference challenges that will prepare us for ECAC action," Toomey said. "We will have the opportunity to play teams with whom we have rivalries with like Towson, Johns Hopkins and Georgetown, and we have two other area teams in Navy and The Mount who we are looking forward to developing rivalries against.

"We will have a very tough road trip to play NCAA champion Duke, and then we have a stretch with the majority of our ECAC schedule. The expansion of the ECAC last season was terrific as we had two teams from our conference (Loyola and Denver) reach the NCAA Championships, and I think it is going to be an even better league this year."

The game against the Midshipmen is the first regular-season contest of the season and one of five home games on the slate for the Greyhounds. The teams also opened the 2010 season against each other, a game in which Loyola scored an 8-7 overtime victory in Annapolis.

Loyola finished the 2010 season with a 9-5 record and earned its third bid in the last four years to the NCAA Championships.

Following the Navy game, Loyola will face its first road test of the season, although it will not have to travel far. The Greyhounds will head to Towson for a game on Saturday, February 26.

Loyola opens ECAC action on Saturday, March 5, when Bellarmine makes its first visit to Ridley Athletic Complex.

The Greyhounds then travel to Durham, N.C., for a Friday, March 11, contest against defending national champion Duke. Loyola returns to Ridley to host defending ECAC titlist Denver on Wednesday, March 16.

Loyola will take on another ECAC team from Colorado three days later when the Greyhounds head to west to play the U.S. Air Force Academy on Saturday, March 19. A week later, Loyola will play defending MAAC champion Mount St. Mary's on Saturday, March 26.

Saturday, April 2, brings the Greyhounds back to ECAC action when they make their first-ever trip to Columbus, Ohio, for a game against Ohio State. Loyola is back Ridley on Saturday, April 9, to play another ECAC foe, Fairfield.

The Greyhounds make an appearance in the National's Capital on Saturday, April 16, to play at Georgetown in a non-conference tilt before returning to Charm City and Ridley for their ECAC regular-season finale against Hobart on Saturday, April 23.

Loyola will make the one-mile trip down Charles Street on Saturday, April 30, for its final regular-season game of 2011 at Johns Hopkins.

The 2011 season adds a new feature to Loyola's schedule, a conference tournament. The Greyhounds will look to qualify for the four-team ECAC Championships that will be held May 6-8, in Denver.

The winner of the ECAC Championships will receive an automatic bid to the 2011 NCAA Championships. The national semifinals and championship game will once again be held in Baltimore at M&T Bank Stadium, May 28-30.

2011 Loyola University Maryland Men's Lacrosse Schedule


Day Date Opponent Location H/A/N
Sat. Feb. 5 UMBC (scrimmage) Catonsville, Md. A
Sat. Feb. 12 Harvard (scrimmage) Ridley Athletic Complex H
Sat. Feb. 19 Navy Ridley Athletic Complex H
Sat. Feb. 26 Towson Towson, Md. A
Sat. March 5 * Bellarmine Ridley Athletic Complex H
Fri. March 11 Duke Durham, N.C. A
Wed. March 16 * Denver Ridley Athletic Complex H
Sat. March 19 * Air Force USAFA, Colo. A
Sat. March 26 Mount St. Mary's Emmitsburg, Md. A
Sat. April 2 * Ohio State Columbus, Ohio A
Sat. April 9 * Fairfield Ridley Athletic Complex H
Sat. April 16 Georgetown Washington, D.C. A
Sat. April 23 * Hobart Ridley Athletic Complex H
Sat. April 30 Johns Hopkins Baltimore, Md. A
Fri. May 6 ^ ECAC Semifinals Denver, Colo. --
Sun. May 8 ^ ECAC Championship Game Denver, Colo. --
Sat. May 14 NCAA First Round Campus Sites --
Sun. May 15 NCAA First Round Campus Sites --
Sat. May 21 NCAA Quarterfinals TBD --
Sun. May 22 NCAA Quarterfinals TBD --
Sat. May 28 NCAA Semifinals Baltimore, Md. --
Mon. May 30 NCAA Championship Baltimore, Md. --

* -- ECAC game; ^ - ECAC Tournament (Denver, Colo.); schedule subject to change


comments powered by Disqus