February 19, 2009

More Headlines

MLL Drops Four Teams, Announces Revised Rosters

from staff reports

Major League Lacrosse will be a six-team league in 2009, minus Los Angeles, Philadelphia, New Jersey and San Francisco and with a new franchise in Toronto. Revised player rosters were released Thursday.

Team representatives met in Boston yesterday to handle the reallocation process.

"There is going to be greater competition for roster sports this year than we have ever experienced before, and obviously, some very gifted athletes may not make the cut this season," said MLL Commissioner David Gross. "However, each and every team will be loaded with talent this summer and this could become the most competitive season on the field in MLL history."
Teams are allowed to open training camp for the 2009 Major League Lacrosse Season on Saturday, April 25 with a maximum of 40 players on their PSAR.  Previously, teams were allowed a limit of 35 players in camp but due to the reduction in teams for 2009, the decision was made to increase that number heading to ensure that as many players as possible have the opportunity to earn a roster spot.
The MLL Player Pool will reopen for a two-week period beginning Monday, Feb. 23 at 9 a.m. Further information regarding the registration process will be posted on www.majorleaguelacrosse.com.
Teams must pare their rosters down to 23 by the conclusion of camp. New for 2009, teams will be allowed to dress a total of 19 players, as decided at the league meetings which were held last October. In previous seasons, teams were allowed to dress 18 players on game day.
A complete list of each team's Pre-Season Active Roster (PSAR):


Owen Adams
Matt Alrich
David Andrzejewski
Mitch Belisle
Brian Boyle
Ryan Boyle
Andrew Brown
Matt Casey
Jonathan Christmas
Jake Coon
Jared Corcoran
Andrew Corno
Joseph D'Arrigo
Ben DeFelice
Christopher Eck
Nate Evans
Brett Garber
Reynolds Garnett
Bobby Horsey
Colin Hulme
Brian Jacovina
Brian Kuczma
Matt Lalli
Michael Levin
Jordan Levine
Paul Manesis
Ryan McClay
Stephen McElduff
Ray Megill
Sean Morris
JJ Morrissey
John Ortolani
Chris Passavia
Mike Podgajny
Matt Poskay
Mike Powell
Paul Rabil
Jack Reid
Kip Turner
Thomas Zummo


Stephen Babbles
Liam Banks
Greg Bice
Jeff Bigas
Christopher Bluse
Steven Brooks
Kevin Buchanan
Mark Bundra
Brendan Cannon
John Carrozza
Brian Clayton
Michael Culver
Jake Deane
DJ Driscoll
Conor Ford
Mike Gabel
Zach Gagel
Brendan Healy
Chris Heier
Steve Holmes
Christopher Keating
Anthony Kelly
Joey Kemp
Terry Kimener
James Kirk
Kevin Leveille
Mike Leveille
Nicholas Marks
Bill McGlone
David Mitchell
Michael Petit
Eric Pittard
Chris Rotelli
Nicholas Schmidt
Doug Shanahan
Matt Striebel
Christopher Sullivan
Sean White
Steve Whittenberg
Chazz Woodson


Matthew Bocklet
Jim Borell
Lou Braun
Matthew Brown
Nick Carlson
Tyler Casertano
Casey Cittadino
Greg Downing
Benson Erwin
Tom Ethington
Thomas Garvey
Wesley Green
Brett Hamilton-Koll
Kyle Harrison
Brett Hughes
Zach Jungers
Brian Langtry
Sean Lindsay
Eric Martin
Sean McCarthy
Brett Moyer
Brendan Mundorf
Jonathan Paulson
Ryan Powell
Alexander Pritzlaff
Jason Rostan
Matthew Scanlon
Jesse Schwartzman
Josh Sims
Alex Smith
Geoffrey Snider
Jeff Sonke
Peter Striebel
Michael Unterstein
Matthew Vallone
Michael Ward
Nate Watkins
Drew Westervelt
Lee Zink
Ryan Zordani

Long Island

Glenn Adams
Stephen Berger
Chase Caruso
Josh Cittadino
Dan Cocchi
Keith Cromwell
Frank D'Agostino
Matt Danowski
Brian Dougherty
Jonathan Engelke
Chris Fiore
John Gagliardi
Tim Goettelmann
Seth Goldberg
Ryan Heath
Brad Heritage
Brian Hubschmann
Jerry Lambe
Joseph Mascaretti
Tony McDevitt
Matt McMonagle
Blake Miller
John Orsen
Ricky Pages
Steve Panarelli
Greg Peyser
Stephen Peyser
Nicholas Polanco
Frank Resetarits
Matt Rewkowski
Ricky Smith
Brian Spallina
Michael Springer
Drew Thompson
Chris Unterstein
Kevin Unterstein
Peter Vlahakis
Matthew Ward
Julian Watts
Matt Zash

Solomon Bliss
Dan Brennan
Brett Bucktooth
Joe Ceglia
Joe Cinosky
Dan Cocoziello
Will Dalton
Colin Doyle
John Grant Jr.
Sean Greenhalgh
Greg Gurenlian
Jordan Hall
Jonathan Iannucci
Brendan Loftus
Brodie Merrill
Nick O'Hara
Casey Powell
Gavin Prout
Brett Queener
Lewis Ratcliff
Rob Scherr
Joe Smith
Merrick Thomson
Daryl Veltman
Joe Walters
Jeff Zywicki


Kevin Boland
Jake Byrne
Kevin Cassese
George Castle
Dan Chemotti
Christopher Collins
Andrew Combs
Casey Connor
Christian Cook
Ian Dingman
Kyle Dixon
Sean Dougherty
Spencer Ford
Kevin Frew
Chris Garrity
Charles Gessner
Christopher Gill
Billy Glading
Benjamin Grinnell
Pat Heim
Jesse Hubbard
Kevin Huntley
Brekan Kohiltz
Hunter Lochte
Brett Manney
Dan Marohl
Shawn Nadelen
Jarett Park
Michael Phipps
Joshua Porcell
Jed Prossner
Paul Richards
Ben Rubeor
Brendan Skakandi
Alex Smith
Justin Smith
Ronnie Staines
Kyle Sweeney
Scott Urick
Trey Whitty

comments powered by Disqus