February 13, 2012

Six to Enter NJCAA Coaches Assoc. Hall of Fame

from press release

- The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association will induct six new members into its Hall of Fame on Friday, May 11, as part of the NJCAA Men's Invitational Lacrosse Championship Weekend.

David Devine, Craig Jaeger, Richie Meade, Nick Polanco, Rich Speckmann, and John Sullivan will be inducted during the NJCAA Tournament Banquet on May 11th at Nassau Community College.

"Our Coaches Association is proud to honor the men, past and present, who by their deeds as players and coaches have made our game so great," said Brendan Chamberlain, NJCAA Lacrosse Coaches Association President. "The accomplishments of these six men show how vital junior college lacrosse has been for so long."

David Devine was a two-time National Champion and All-American at Nassau Community College. After Nassau, he was a two-time All-Ivy and All American at Cornell. Selected to play for the U.S. in World Championships in England, 1978.

Craig Jaeger was a two-time All American and National Champion at Nassau Community College. After Nassau, he was a two-time All-Ivy and All-American midfielder at Cornell. Helped the 1977 team to NCAA championship and runner-up finish in 1978. Selected to play for the U.S. in World Championships in England, 1978. After College, Jaeger has been selected into Cornell Hall of Fame and the Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame.

Rich Meade was an All-American and two-time National Champion at Nassau. After Nassau, he played at the University of North Carolina. After Playing at North Carolina, he served as an assistant coach at Duke, North Carolina, Navy and Army. He was also head coach at the University of Baltimore and then more recently the head coach at the US Naval Academy. At Navy, Meade amassed a 142-97 record and was National Coach of the Year in 2004. Meade serves as President of the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA), which was created to help build the game of lacrosse, become the premier organization providing coaches development and monitor the integrity of the game. Coach Meade recently was selected to coach Team USA in the 2014 World Games in Denver Colorado. Richie has also been recently inducted into Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame.

Nick Polanco led Nassau Community College to win the National Junior College Athletic Association championships in 1999 and 2000. He was named National Junior College Athletic Association All American and Player of the Year in both seasons. Following Nassau, Polanco earned All-America honors each of his two years at Hofstra, and as a senior he was named Colonial Athletic Association Player and Defensive Player of the Year. As a pro, Nick has been a member of the US National Team and a multiple time Major League Lacrosse (MLL) All Star and Defenseman of the Year. In 2004 his Philadelphia Barrage Team won an MLL Championship. Polanco currently plays for the Long Island Lizards of Major League Lacrosse. He has also been inducted into the Oceanside High School and Nassau Community College Athletics Halls of Fame.

In 40 years as the Head Coach of the Nassau Community College Rich Speckmann participated in 39 of the 40 NJCAA Final Fours and has won a record 20 National Championships. Coach Speckmann has compiled a won-lost record of 477-158-1 during his tenure. Winning championships is only half of Coach Speckmann's legacy. Of his players, over 200 have been named NJCAA All Americans, 6 have been selected to the U.S. World Team, and dozens have been named NCAA All Americans. Speckmann has been inducted into the Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame, Oceanside High School and Cortland University Athletics Hall of Fame.

John Sullivan was a two-time all-American and MVP of the 1977 NJCAA National Championship at Farmingdale. At Roanoke College he was the MVP of the 1978 NCAA National Championship and was an All American in 1979. Following his college career, Sullivan has been inducted into the Farmingdale and Roanoke College Hall of Fames.



Lacrosse Magazine on Facebook


LaxMagazine.com features news, scores and standings tailored to your favorite teams.

» NCAA Division I Men
» NCAA Division I Women
» NCAA Division II Men
» NCAA Division II Women
» NCAA Division III Men
» NCAA Division III Women
» MCLA Division I Men
» MCLA Division II Men
» U.S. Senior Men
» U.S. Senior Women
» U.S. U19 Men
» U.S. U19 Women
» U.S. Indoor Men

// show either all first or all second banners