May 8, 2011

Adelphi, Limestone Pace NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Tournament Field

by Matt DaSilva | | NCAA Division II Tournament Bracket (PDF)

Two-time defending Division II women's lacrosse champion Adelphi (18-0) cruised to another undefeated season and South Region stalwart Limestone (17-1) survived an upset loss to Rollins in its regular season finale to earn byes to the semifinal round of the NCAA tournament, whose six-team bracket was released Sunday.

Adelphi, the Northeast-10 champion, will host the winner of Saturday's first-round game between East Coast Conference champion Dowling (15-2) and NE-10 runner-up Le Moyne (17-2) on May 22. The Golden Lions secured the ECC title and simultaneously eliminated C.W. Post with a victory Saturday. The Dolphins are in their first season in Division II after reclassifying from Division I. Their only two losses this season came to Adelphi.

Limestone, the Conference Carolinas champion who went undefeated until Rollins derailed it Saturday with a stunning 13-9 upset, nonetheless owned head-to-head regular season wins over the other two South Region entrants -- PSAC champion Lock Haven (16-2) and runner-up West Chester (15-4). Those two teams will face each other for the third time this season in Saturday's other first-round game. West Chester won 13-12 during the regular season, but Lock Haven avenged it with a 10-9 victory in the PSAC championship game.

NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Tournament First-Round Games

Saturday, May 14 (all times Eastern)
Le Moyne (17-2) at Dowling (15-2) - 12 p.m. (winner meets Adelphi in May 22 semifinal)
West Chester (15-4) at Lock Haven (16-2) - 12 p.m. (winner meets Limestone in May 22 semifinal)



Lacrosse Magazine on Facebook

FOLLOW THEM features news, scores and standings tailored to your favorite teams.

» NCAA Division I Men
» NCAA Division I Women
» NCAA Division II Men
» NCAA Division II Women
» NCAA Division III Men
» NCAA Division III Women
» MCLA Division I Men
» MCLA Division II Men
» U.S. Senior Men
» U.S. Senior Women
» U.S. U19 Men
» U.S. U19 Women
» U.S. Indoor Men

// show either all first or all second banners